To say or not to say – The Media

Salam/ Peace be upon you,

“For what is a man, what has he got?
If not himself, then he has naught
To say the things he truly feels and not the words of one who kneels”

– Frank Sinatra

This might get me into hot water but whatever. I speak my mind. Recent political “development” in this country has been very chaotic. It’s rather difficult to talk or discuss about politics honestly without risking losing friends and even sometimes family, when both are on opposing sides. The very reason why some decided to disregard politics altogether.

You might disagree with me on this but judging from my own experience, I came to the conclusion that relationship prevails (by this I mean, agreeing with the other party regardless of how absurd the arguments may sometimes be). Now I know some might have the idea that I am pro-opposition. Sorry to disappoint but honestly, I am NOT. I might be inclined towards some of the issues that were raised (also, maybe a bit sympathetic towards them for being sidelined and treated rather unfairly) but that’s just it. And yes, I’m not a big fan of the current admin either.

The Media

So why am I even writing this? I guess, it’s my call. I’ve been so frustrated reading, listening and watching news (read: propaganda) of late. Be it from the mainstream media or the net. So one-sided, so distorted. Seriously, what the hell is wrong with you guys?!! Hence, I’ve decided that being all miserable and “concerned” won’t change a thing (more on that later). I need to do something. And this, you’re reading it. Enough with the complains, start acting! Bak kata Dr Azizan Osman, BERANI!!!

Talk about mainstream media, if there’s a prize for the Most Sued Newspaper, Utusan most definitely would be the front-runner. One can only imagine how on earth such publication could still survive despite being sued (and LOST!) endlessly. Judging from their so-called “news”, they deserve it. Closest rival would be TV3 but thank God they would be competing in a different category.

Not surprising.
Senyum itu Sedekah juga kan? =p

What about Harakah then? To me, it’s just another version of Utusan. Shots from the other side of the battlefield. Both are at the very extreme, being the breeding ground for fanatics and extremists. How do you expect people to unite then? Just. ridiculous. YOU preaching about justice and ADIL yet you can’t even put your stories straight and unbiased? Brilliant!

Then we have online portals, so-called the “free” and alternative media. So free and broad that one needs to always bear in mind that not everything there is to be trusted. Put your brain to work and filter those information prior to “sharing” or “tweeting” them. If you’re unsure whether it’s TRUE or NOT, refrain yourself from spreading it. But if you already did, have the courtesy to put fair updates on that matter or apologize. That’s not too much to ask, I suppose.

“That is because Allah would not change a favor which He had bestowed upon a people until they change what is within themselves. And indeed, Allah is Hearing and Knowing.”

– Al-Quran, 8:53

I won’t hope for things to get better and that miracles don’t just happen (refer above). I’ll make it happen, in fact we all should. My call, stop supporting those dubious publications until they come back to their senses by putting journalism back to where it belongs. Honest and fair, for the benefit of all. Simple.

If there’s any error or hiccups in my posts (this, future and previous ones), I stand corrected. And feel free to share your thoughts below! =)

Published by

fizzo2002

I'm friendly and open. I hate judgementalists and enjoy sharing my thoughts with others. ^__^

Leave a Reply

